Exploring Córdoba

comment 1
Andalucía

I started my first day in Córdoba from one of the oldest sites around: the Roman bridge.

Although the bridge has been renovated and reconstructed several times over the course of history, it was initially built by the Romans in the 1st century. Passing through the Puerta del Puente, I slowly made my way over.

Found myself at the Guadalquivir River again. It was definitely nicer in Sevilla though.

Down the bridge, I came across a man offering to write your name in Arabic calligraphy for €2. I could hardly pass that up!

There wasn’t much to see immediately on the other side so I wandered around for a little bit before returning to the historic center.

I did come across a cute church.

Ready to get a move on, I went to the Alcázar which was once the residence of the Muslim rulers. Today, its best feature is the gardens.

The low hills in the background. Towards the left, you can just make out the Roman bridge.

Córdoba is one of the hottest places in Spain, if not mainland Europe, and although it was nowhere near as warm as it gets in the summer, it was refreshing to be in the cool gardens on a sunny day.

Knowing that I would need a few hours to experience the Mosque of Córdoba, I passed by it for the time being and continued on.

Strolling around the narrow alleys, I soon came across Plaza Maimonides in the Jewish Quarter. Given Córdoba’s illustrious past as a flourishing city of Muslims, Christians and Jews, let alone the center of education, it’s not surprising that it gave rise to influential people.

If only my philosophy classes had been taught on location.

Outside the Puerta de Almodóvar.

By this point, it was time for a late lunch. I stopped by at a little restaurant in one of the town’s squares.

I’ve had better salmorejo but I promise, the artichoke dish was so much better than it looks!

This building is a part of the University of Córdoba.

Passing by a colourful tourist shop.

I then explored some of the patios; because of this festival, I will forever remember Córdoba in shades of pink and blue.

The sign saying “Córdoba 2016” reflects the efforts to become a European Capital of Culture.

Filled with the scent of flowers, I called it a day and headed back to my hostel Al-Katre. The owner, an incredibly friendly lady from Valencia, made my stay in Córdoba a whole lot more memorable and I would recommend it.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

