To New Adventures

comments 6
Confessions
In a little over two weeks, I will write the final exam of my undergraduate studies. University has been such a challenging yet exciting experience and I am grateful for so many things that have happened over the past four years. However, it is also true that at this point, my mind is tired of academia and since it has been more than a year since I last travelled, every part of me longs for an adventure. So, as a graduation gift to myself, I had been looking into going to Europe and just recently made the leap by booking my tickets to two countries: Spain and Turkey.

Admittedly, I had a couple panic attacks following the purchase but that anxiety eventually passed. My amazing sisters and friends encouraged me and having specific dates allowed me to do more solid research and begin making my itinerary. But why did I choose these two places? Both of them have actually been at the top of my list for a long time because of their culture, architecture and Islamic history. In fact, I was first drawn to Spain because of Andalusia and that is where my journey will start.

I will spend the first three weeks of May backpacking in Spain and see Sevilla, Granada, Madrid, Cordoba, Barcelona and Malaga before flying to Istanbul and remaining in Turkey for the next three weeks. I have not yet made plans outside of Istanbul as I feel like I could happily remain there the whole time but I will look into tours, perhaps to Cappadocia and Antalya, once I am on the ground.

I am beyond thrilled for this trip and learn something new through my research everyday. For example, I skimmed Lonely Planet’s Spain yesterday and ended the night by watching Pedro Almodóvar’s Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown (1988); originally known in Spanish as Mujeres al borde de un ataque de nervios. The film was quite amusing and reminded me a little bit of Breakfast at Tiffany’s (1961).

On a side note, posts on my Middle Eastern trip will be on hold until I can do them justice in the future. In the meantime, if you have suggestions for any of the places that I am heading to, do let me know! Reach you next time, from Sevilla.

The photo used above is adapted from the original found here.

6 Comments

  1. Good luck for your final exams! You’re almost done! And, wow going to Spain and turkey? That’s amazing!! Hope you will have an amazing time there!! Truly enjoyed reading this post! Hope you’re well! Take care.

  2. Turkey is amazing! We’ve just arrived in Istanbul and are going to Cappadocia and Antalya next week so do ask if you have any questions – or check out my blog for further stories etc

    • Great! Will definitely do so as those are exactly the places I was interested in. Hope you have a good trip!!

  3. Good luck on your next adventure! I’d recommend Bursa if you are looking for a day or weekend trip not too far from Istanbul. It’s an amazing place and too often overlooked 🙂

Leave a Reply

